The Daltonian - Vol. XXXV No. XXI, April 19, 1966
EDITORIAL
There is a thin line between sensible editing and censorship. . . A short time ago, a small painting by a high school student was removed from the lobby. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/5943/rec/6
The Daltonian - Vol. XXXVII No. 21, May 10, 1968
To the Editor;
. . .Perhaps The Daltonian is a poor paper because the administration is more concerned with Dalton’s "image" as presented by the school newspaper than with allowing the students to voice their opinions. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/6062/rec/8
The Daltonian - Vol. XXXVII No. 22, May 17, 1968
Editorial
Editorial The policy of the candidates for editor of The Daltonian on censorship is and should be one of the main issues in the coming election.
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/6076/rec/9
The Daltonian - Vol. XXXVIII No. 3, October 4, 1968
Editorial
To be able to voice one's opinion is a great attribute of our society. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/6105/rec/2
The High School Student Union
. . .primary function of the union is political, issues such as dress codes, newspaper censorship, and student government. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/6101/rec/10
The Daltonian - No. 19, March 18, 1971 page 6-7
The Daltonian IS DIFFERENT
. . . conflict between student opinion and administration influence in the publication of student papers . . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/6639/rec/3
The Daltonian - October 29, 1971
Editorial
. . . Board of Trustees had made an offer to finance the printing of The Daltonian . . . Last year's editor chose not to accept this offer for fear of censorship on the part of the administration. This year's editors, however, have reconsidered the issue and, after a promise of no censorship from the administration. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/6730/rec/14
The Daltonian – 1972
The Blue Flag is alive and well and on the second floor. Mr. Sevastapoulo says that though the Blue Flag committee will continue to produce and to edit the publication, the administration now has the right to censor it. Although he doubts that the second floor will need to exercise this right, “if anything controversial or objectionable comes up, we won't hesitate to censor it.”
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/6795/rec/4
The Daltonian - No. 6, January 26, 1973
The Quantum Review
The first major yearbook deadline has passed and with it came administration censorship. . .
The Blue Flag will not stand for censorship! Having been granted funds by the administration to continue publication, the literary magazine is trying to extricate itself from outside control. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/6775/rec/212
The Daltonian - No. 4, December 5, 1973
Representatives Meet with Trustees
. . .On the topic of The Daltonian subscription, Mr. Barr said that if the circulation is widened to include an outside audience, then the paper would be subject to administration censorship.
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/6874/rec/18
The Daltonian - Vol. XXXVI No. 2, June 8, 1977
Journalistic Independence
For the last issue of The Daltonian, an important article was extensively researched and fully written, but readers of The Daltonian never had a chance to see it. The reason that the article never appeared was that Headmaster Dunnan objected to its publication. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7139/rec/22
The Daltonian - Vol. XXXVI, No. 7, May 10, 1978
Taming The Tiger?
. . .The intent of the decisions was to prevent campaign tactics which might prove offensive. . . Despite these well-meaning intentions, such action by the Administration interferes with free expression in an election campaign. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7189/rec/23
The Daltonian - Vol. XXXVII, No. 8, April 16, 1979
Interschool Censorship
The recent censorship of an entire issue of the Interschool publication Arachne after it had been printed. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7221/rec/7
The Daltonian - Vol. XXXVIII, No. 8, May 9, 1980
Nude Photos Censored (see October 27, 2016 for related article)
Ten photographs of a nude subject which were part of an art exhibit run by Ms. Footlick. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7292/rec/9
Dress Code
. . .Another aspect of the issue is that certain rules infringe upon students’ rights to freedom of speech. A Supreme Court ruling stated that no school, public or private, may forbid statements through articles of clothing. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7293/rec/9
Election Rules Rejected
. . .was a reaction to the administration’s recent institution of campaign rules requiring that all speeches and posters for this year’s elections be reviewed by administrators for approval before use. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7294/rec/9
The Daltonian - Vol. XXXVIV, No. 1, September 18, 1980
Censorship
Censorship of The Daltonian has become an issue already, even before the start of school. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7320/rec/26
The Daltonian - Vol. XXXIX, No. 4, March 3, 1981
Op Ed: Computer Controversy Rehashed; New York Magazine’s Yellow Journalism
. . .As has often been remarked by our history department, freedom of speech and of the press is normally restricted to information which harms no one. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7380/rec/8
The Dalton Voice - Vol. I, No. IX, 1982
A Common Goal
. . .The administration must understand that it is not the students intent to offend, but to protect the Dalton institution we work in and love. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll9/id/1582/rec/12
The Daltonian - Vol. XL, No. 8, June 7, 1982
Democracy Is Dead
Active intervention in student elections has illustrated the administration’s unwillingness to allow students any measure of self-government. . . Students must overcome apathy and disunity before they are again presented with choice censorship as a fait accompli.
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7407/rec/29
The Daltonian - Vol. XLVI, No. 5, March 4, 1988
Op-Ed
On Jan.13, 1988, the Supreme Court ruled 5 to 3 that public school officials have broad power to censor school newspapers and other "school- sponsored expressive activities".
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7693/rec/37
The Daltonian - Vol XLVII, No. 3, October 31, 1988
Perspective David Menschel
. . .To prohibit Morton Downey from addressing the Dalton community would be anti-intellectual, closed minded and erroneous. This blatant censorship would deny us the opportunity to consider opinions which deviate from the mainstream. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/7808/rec/37
The Daltonian - Vol. XLVII, No. 2, October 13, 1989
Dalton Alumna Writes Letter to The New York Times
. . .even at private institutions, requires freedom of speech and access to knowledge. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/8123/rec/17
Dalton Connections - Spring 1992
Remembering Dalton 1935-1945 Marian Seldes (’45)
Censorship: When the angels were painted over with yellow paint.
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll6/id/1380/rec/40
The Daltonian - Vol. L, No. 4, November 25, 1992
To the Editors,
. . .By confusing choices made on the basis of the identity of a publication with censorship, the editors have misunderstood the nature of editorship. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/8066/rec/42
Perspective | Samuel Waxman
Political correctness
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/8066/rec/23
The Daltonian - Vol. LII, No. 4, January 6, 1995
Choice Words? An Assessment of the Short-Lived Cursing Fine
. . .Any issue which concerns ideals as serious as freedom of speech deserves the attention and consensus of the student body. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/8228/rec/26
The Daltonian - Vol. LIII, No. 2, October 6, 1995
Editorial …continued from Page 2
. . .forbidding one company from advertising in our publication despite its willingness to pay our rates, we are violating the First Amendment rights of this organization. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/8404/rec/27
The Daltonian - Vol. LV, No. 7, June 3, 1998
Administration Censors Students
. . .But three cases of administrative intervention this academic year have brought into light the question of what is appropriate for public display in Dalton. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/8621/rec/47
The Daltonian - Vol. LVI, No. 2, September 10, 1998
1999: Year of the Boocock (Interim Headmaster Roger Boocock)
Daltonian: Last year there was a feeling within the student body that there was too much censorship by the administration . . .
Roger Boocock: . . .I think those are very real issues and it’s a very complicated matter to decide what, in fact, is appropriate, and people have very different opinions.
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/8522/rec/46
The Daltonian - Vol. LVI, No. 4, January 13, 2000
The Uncensored Scoop on Censorship at Dalton
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/8968/rec/50
The Daltonian - Vol. LVI, No. 7, May 18, 2000
Editorial
A Response to The Alternative
. . .We do not wish to censor student opinion; however, as editors, we have a moral responsibility. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/8900/rec/51
The Dalton Alternative - Year 2, No. 1, October 24, 2000
Censorship at Dalton
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll9/id/2312/rec/52
The Daltonian - Vol. LVI, No. 6, June 14, 2001
Hail to the Chief
. . .Daltonian: Censorship has become a big issue in the community - do you have any ideas about how to placate both the administration and the student body?
EP (student president-elect Josh Motelow): Censorship is a difficult issue to address. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/9005/rec/53
The Daltonian - Vol. LXIII, No. 5, March 14, 2005
Is Political Bias Stifling Students in the Classroom?
. . .All students need to have the assurance that they can express their views—whatever they may be—without being verbally attacked simply because of political leanings. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/9461/rec/55
The Daltonian - Vol. LXXIII, No. 2, October 23, 2006
Web Censorship at Dalton
. . . The issue isn’t censorship but unsupervised access. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/9679/rec/59
The Daltonian - Vol. LXXIV, No. 6, February 11, 2008
Diversity of Thought
For a progressive institution, Dalton sure is becoming intolerant. . .
I tried to avoid controversy and went along with what I perceived as unfair censorship. But since my speech—to my knowledge— didn’t have offensive content, it should not have been edited. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/9780/rec/61
The Daltonian - Vol. LXXVIII, No. 7, June 1, 2012
Who's Afraid of Prior Review?
Editorial and response
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/10497/rec/65
The Daltonian - Vol. LXXXI, No. 5, March 15, 2015
The Silenced Voices in Racial Discussions
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/12049/rec/66
The Daltonian - Vol. LXXXIII, No. 2, October 27, 2016
Dalton’s Written Past: Sense and Censor-Ability (see May 9, 1980 above for original article)
“The whole Art Department was very upset about it,” she recalled. Then, she turned to her class of High School students present in the room and asked them what they would think if photo-graphs containing nudity were hung on the second floor today. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/12415/rec/81
The Daltonian - Vol. LXXXIII, No. 8, April 19, 2017
. . .Dilemma: Should members of an intellectual institution have the right to censor perspectives disagreeable to them?. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/12799/rec/72
The Daltonian - Vol. LXXXIV, No. 4, March 1, 2018
Freedom of Speech
The challenge for Dalton in uniformly promoting freedom of speech and intellectual independence is how to welcome all speakers, but also maintain a community in which all students are valued and respected. . .
https://ezproxy.dalton.org:2200/digital/collection/p17159coll1/id/13318/rec/74