Skip to main content

Music: Websites

Trusted Websites

MetOpera Database
Search through this up-to-date chronicle of every Metropolitan Opera performance since 1883 for complete information on all performers, operas and ballets at the Met. Includes photos, designs, reviews, statistics, and chapters on great events in Met history.


MusOpen
MusOpen provides access to copyright free, public domain recordings, sheet music, and textbooks.

New York Philharmonic Archives
The New York Philharmonic Archives, which serves as a repository for more than 165 years of Philharmonic history, traces the entire history of the Philharmonic and its more than 14,000 performances around the world and is an important record of cultural history in New York City. The orchestra's performance history is currently available online.

New York Public Library - Best of the Web
Internet resources selected by the music research librarians at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.

Opera Glass
From Stanford University, Opera Glass provides libretti, source texts, performance histories, synopses, and discographies.

Petrucci Music Library
This music library provides free classical music scores which can be browsed and searched by composer, melody, instrumentation, or genre.

Sheet Music Consortium
This group of libraries provides access to digitized sheet music from university and research libraries across the country.

How to evaluate a website

Websites  

Good in-depth research often involves using information found on the internet.  When using web resources provided by or recommended by your teacher or librarian, you can feel confident that you have credible sources.  When you independently find resources on the internet, it may not be so clear if you are looking at a credible source.  Click HERE for a few tips to help you evaluate websites.