Discovering American Women's History
This database simplifies access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from 1730s to the late 20th century.
Foreign Affairs - Premium Content
(Remote access: Ask librarian for ID and password)
Foreign Affairs contains discussion of American foreign policy and international affairs, and covers a broad range of subjects, not only political but historical and economic. The premium content (now available by logging in with the ID and password above and selecting "Features") includes letters from correspondents abroad, reading lists on topics of interest, "Postscripts" (topics revisited and reconsidered by authors), commentary, essays, and more.
Making of America
Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction covering the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Library of Congress - American Memory Project
American Memory provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
The Internet Modern History Sourcebook
The Internet Modern History Sourcebook is one of a series of history primary sourcebooks. It is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students modern European history, American history, modern Western Civilization and World Cultures.
New York Public Library -- Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 640,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Good in-depth research often involves using information found on the internet. When using web resources provided by or recommended by your teacher or librarian, you can feel confident that you have credible sources. When you independently find resources on the internet, it may not be so clear if you are looking at a credible source. Click HERE for a few tips to help you evaluate websites.