Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology & Health Sciences: Websites

Trusted Websites - ** Items marked with asterisks (**) are Middle School Friendly, too!

American Museum of Natural History: Resources for Learning
(http://www.amnh.org/learn-teach/grades-9-12)
Resources for Learning is a collection of activities, articles, evidence and analysis and more for students and anyone interested in teaching or learning about science.

Atlas of Human Anatomy ** (https://studentconsult.inkling.com/store/book/netters-atlas-human-anatomy-6th/‚Äč)
[Please contact a librarian for the Login information.]
Online version of Frank H. Netter's classic Atlas of Human Anatomy, 5th Edition. Bonus items online include interactive videos, extra images, MRI, CT scans, and more.

BioInteractive (http://www.hhmi.org/biointeractive/)
Resources for students including videos, animation, print articles, and virtual labs on many topics.

Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy ** (http://www.cidrap.umn.edu)
University of Minnesota covers influenze, bioterrorism, food safety, and more.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention ** (http://www.cdc.gov)
Information on health, safety, environmental health, violence, injury, and more.

DNA Learning Center (http://www.dnalc.org)
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory's Dolan Learning Center offers the Biology Animation Library, 3-D Animation Library, 3-D Brain, Gene Screen App, and more.

Exploratorium (http://www.exploratorium.edu)
Over 18,000 award-winning webpages covering all areas of science. Highlights include the “Microscope Imaging Station” and the “Visualization Lab”.

Genetics Home Reference (http://ghr.nlm.nih.gov)
Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of variations on human health.

KidsHealth ** (http://kidshealth.org/)
With separate areas for kids and teens, KidsHealth provides articles, animations, games, and resources on physical and emotional health.

Kimball's Biology Pages (http://biology-pages.info)
This is an online biology textbook in an easy-to-search format with index and internal links for easy access to definitions and related content.

Learn Genetics (http://learn.genetics.utah.edu)
Easy to understand materials on genetics, bioscience, and health topics from The Genetic Science Learning Center at the University of Utah.

Mayo Clinic ** (www.mayoclinic.org)
Health information and research available including clinical trials and other publications.

MedLine Plus ** (http://medlineplus.gov/)
A service of the National Institutes of Health, MedLine Plus provides information on 750 topics plus an encyclopedia, dictionary, and current news.

National Institutes of Health ** (http://nih.gov)
Comprehensive information on health related topics easily searched under the “Health Information” section.

National Institute of Mental Health ** (http://www.nimh.nih.gov)
This NIH site includes information, statistics, publications, and clinical trials on mental health and disorders.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (http://nccam.nih.gov)
Learn about complementary and alternative medicine with research from the NIH.

NOAA Central Library (http://www.lib.noaa.gov/)
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration website provides information and research support on weather and atmospheric sciences, oceanography, ocean engineering, nautical charting, marine ecology, marine resources, ecosystems, coastal studies, aeronomy, geodesy, cartography, mathematics and statistics.

National Science Digital Library (http://nsdl.org)
NSDL is the Nation's online library for education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.

Nutrition.gov (http://www.nutrition.gov/whats-food)
Nutrition.gov provides easy access to vetted food and nutrition information from across the federal government. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.

Online Biology Book (http://www.emc.maricopa.edu/faculty/farabee/BIOBK/BioBookTOC.html)
This book covers a wide range of topics including genetics, physiology, biological diversity, ecology, and more.

RCSB Protein Data Bank (http://www.rcsb.org/pdb/home/home.do)
This resource provides information about the 3D shapes of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies that helps students and researchers understand all aspects of biomedicine and agriculture, from protein synthesis to health and disease.


San Diego Zoo - Fact Sheets (http://ielc.libguides.com/sdzg/factsheets/index/)
The San Diego Zoo Global Library's fact sheets are in-depth and based on the research literature. Each includes references and an extensive bibliography. Each fact sheet covers Taxonomy & History, Distribution & Habitat, Physical Characteristics, Behavior & Ecology, Diet & Feeding, Reproduction & Development, Managed Care, and Population & Conservation.


Science.gov (www.science.gov)
Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2,000 selected websites from 14 Federal Agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. Government science information including research and development results.

Scitable (www.nature.com/scitable)
Scitable, an online resource from Nature Publishing, Scitable currently concentrates on genetics and cell biology, including evolution and gene expression. Included are articles, images, eBooks, and more.

Unites States Department of Agriculture – National Agricultural Library (http://www.nal.usda.gov)
The National Agricultural Library offers a section on “Food and Human Nutrition” with valuable resources on food composition, nutrition, dietary guidelines and supplements, food safety, food industry, and more.

Virtual Cell Animation Collection (http://vcell.ndsu.nodak.edu/animations/)
Video and step-by-step still images with explanations describe the basic cellular and molecular processes.

World Health Organization ** (http://www.who.int/csr/disease/en)
Information on diseases covered by GAR (Global Alert and Response.)

World Library of Science ** (http://www.nature.com/wls)
Developed as a partnership between UNESCO and Macmillan Science and Education, this online Library offers quality Nature Education content in short eBooks and articles.  

 

 

 

 

How to evaluate a website

Websites  

Good in-depth research often involves using information found on the internet.  When using web resources provided by or recommended by your teacher or librarian, you can feel confident that you have credible sources.  When you independently find resources on the internet, it may not be so clear if you are looking at a credible source.  Click HERE for a few tips to help you evaluate websites.