Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black Studies: Websites

Image

-- images from Biography in Context

Trusted Websites

  • The African-American Mosaic

    The Library of Congress Resource Guide for the study of Black history and culture.

  • Digital Schomburg
    New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture provides access to scholarship on the global Black experience. The Digital Schomburg offers exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links for research in the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
  • Enslaved: Peoples of the HIstorical Slave Trade
    With over 5 million data points with a global scope, the site provides raw materials for learning about people, events, and places, as well as brief stories that have been curated for us from this data.
  • FBI Vault
    The Vault contains more than 6,700 digital documents and other media that have were acquired through the Freedom of Information Act. The Civil Rights section includes sections on individuals and groups such as Martin Luther King Jr., Malcom X, Black Panthers, White Supremacist Groups, and more.

  • Library of Congress African American Digital Collections

    Online access to 87 collections of African American holdings in the Library of Congress.

  • Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture
    Images of objects from the collections are available to view, download, and share.  Includes thousands of items covering activism, civil rights, education, family, literature, music, politics, religion, segregation, and slavery.

  • SNCC Digital

    The Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee website includes timelines, biographies of those in the struggle, resources, and more.

  • University of Washington - African American History

    University of Washington's outstanding guide to primary sources about African American history including Slavery & Abolition and Civil Rights from the 15th through the 20th centuries.

How to evaluate a website

Websites  

Good in-depth research often involves using information found on the internet.  When using web resources provided by or recommended by your teacher or librarian, you can feel confident that you have credible sources.  When you independently find resources on the internet, it may not be so clear if you are looking at a credible source.  Click HERE for a few tips to help you evaluate websites.