Citation Guides: Citation - CSE

MODEL NOTES AND BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRIES
CSE Scientific Style and Format, 8th ed.

 

The CSE Scientific Style and Format is used for the sciences. You will be using in-text notes
which refer the reader to a complete bibliography at the end of the document. For each type
of source below, the format model appears first followed by examples of both bibliography
and in-text note entries.

⭐️ Bibliography entries must be alphabetized and each entry begins flush left with all
subsequent lines indented.
⭐️ In-text notes include (author date) and may appear inside a sentence or after it. If there
is no author, begin with the title. If your teacher requests it, add a page number after
the date separated by a comma. (author date, page)
As always, feel free to ask a librarian for help with citation.

Click on an item type to see the model format.

BOOKS (Print and Online)
• Print Book
• Online / Digital Book
• Multiple Authors
• Unknown Author
• Edited Work Without an Author
• Edited Work With an Author
• Translated Work
• Volume in a Multi-Volume Work
• Chapter in a Book
• Encyclopedia Article in Print
• Online Encyclopedia Article

ARTICLES IN PERIODICALS (Print and Online)
• Article in Print
• Article from database
• Article online
• Newspaper Article in Print
• Newspaper Article from a Database
• Newspaper Article Published Online

WEB SITES
• Web site

VISUAL
• Video

BOOKS (print and online)

PRINT BOOK
Author(s). Date. Title. Edition. Place of publication: publisher.
Schott J. 2002. Leading antenatal classes: a practical guide. 2nd ed. Boston (MA):
Books for Midwives.
(Schott 2002)

(Return to Top)

ONLINE / DIGITAL BOOK
Author(s). Date of publication. Title of book. Edition. Place of publication: publisher; [date
updated; date accessed]. URL or DOI.
Williams R, Johnson P. 2008. Genetic policing: the use of DNA in chemical investigations
[Internet]. Portland (OR): Willan Publishing; [cited 2014 Sept 30]. Available from
NetLibrary: http://www.netlibrary.com/
(Williams 2008)

(Return to Top)

MULTIPLE AUTHORS
Note: For books with 3 to 10 authors, list all authors in the bibliography entry; in the in-text
reference, list only the first, followed by “et al.” For books with more than 10 authors, list the
first 10 in the bibliography entry, followed by “et al.”
Ferrozzi F, Garlaschi G, Bova D. 2000. CT of metastases. New York (NY): Springer.
(Ferrozzi et al. 2000)

(Return to Top)

UNKNOWN AUTHOR
Title. Date of publication. Place of publication: publisher.
CRC handbook of chemistry and physics. c2008. Cleveland (OH): CRC Press.
(CRC c2008)

(Return to Top)

EDITED WORK WITHOUT AN AUTHOR
Editor(s), “editor(s)”. Date of publication. Title. Place of publication: publisher.
Herndl CG, Brown SC, editors. 1996. Green culture: environmental rhetoric in contemporary
America. Madison (WI): University of Wisconsin Press.
(Herndl 1996)

(Return to Top)

EDITED WORK WITH AN AUTHOR
Author(s). Date of publication. Title. Editor(s), “editor(s)”. Place of publication: publisher.
Poston T. 2000. A First Draft of History. Hauke K. editor. Athens: University of Georgia Press.
(Poston 2000)

(Return to Top)

TRANSLATED WORK
Author(s). Date of publication. Title. Translator(s), “translator(s)”. Place of publication:
publisher.
Guerra T. 1999. Abandoned Places. Bernardi A, translator. Barcelona: Guernica.
(Guerra 1999)

(Return to Top)

VOLUME IN A MULTI-VOLUME WORK
Note: The volume number follows the title of the set and precedes the title of the individual
volume.
Author. Date of publication. Title. Volume number, title of volume. Place of publication:
publisher.
McPherson J. 1993. Ordeal by Fire. Vol. 2, The Civil War. New York: McGraw-Hill.
(McPherson 1993)

(Return to Top)

CHAPTER IN A BOOK
Author. Date of publication. Title. Place of publication: publisher. Chapter number, chapter
title; page numbers.
Gawande A. 2010. The checklist manifesto: how to get things right. New York (NY):
Metropolitan Books. Chapter 3, The end of the master builder; p. 48–71.

(Gawande 2010)
(Return to Top)
ENCYCLOPEDIA ARTICLE IN PRINT
Entry author. Date of publication. Title of entry. “In:” title. Volume number. Place of publication:
publisher. Page numbers.
Robertson MP. 2009. Origins of life: emergence of the RNA world. In: Wiley encyclopedia of
chemical biology. Vol. 3. Hoboken (NJ): John Wiley & Sons. p. 517-28.
(Robertson 2009)

(Return to Top)

ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIA ARTICLE
Entry author. Date of publication. Title of entry. “In:” title. [date updated; date accessed]. URL.
Rugnetta M. 2014. Cloning. In: Encyclopædia Britannica Online. [accessed 2014 October 3].
http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/962695/cloning.
(Rugnetta 2014)

(Return to Top)

ARTICLES IN PERIODICALS (print and online)

ARTICLE IN PRINT
Author(s). Date. Article title. Journal title Volume(issue): page numbers.
Pierce JP, Messer K, White MM, Cowling DW, Thomas DP. 2011. Prevalence of heavy
smoking in California and the United States, 1965-2007. JAMA 305(11): 1106-1112.
(Pierce et al. 2011)

(Return to Top)

ARTICLE FROM A DATABASE
Author(s). Date of publication. Article title. Journal title Volume(issue): page numbers. “In:”
database title. “Available from:” URL and/or doi.
Skinner S. 2005. Evolution or intelligent design: the menu model of elementary science
instruction. Science Educator. 32(2): 1975-2008. In: Science Direct. Available from:
http://www.sciencedirect/scienceeducator/32/2/skinner; doi:123456789.
(Skinner 2005)

(Return to Top)

ARTICLE PUBLISHED ONLINE
Author(s) of article. Date of publication. Title of article. Title of journal (edition). [date updated;
date accessed];Volume(issue):location. URL or doi.
Savage E, Ramsay M, White J, Beard S, Lawson H, Hunjan R, Brown D. 2005. Mumps
outbreaks across England and Wales in 2004: observational study. BMJ. [accessed
2005 May 31];330(7500):1119–1120. http://bmj.bmjjournals.com/cgi/reprint/
330/7500/1119.
(Savage 2004)

(Return to Top)

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE IN PRINT
Author(s). Date of publication. Article title. Newspaper title (edition). Section: beginning page
number (column).
Weiss R. 2003 Apr 11. Study shows problems in cloning people: researchers find replicating
primates will be harder than other mammals. Washington Post (Home Ed.). Sect. A:12
(col. 1).
(Weiss 2003)

(Return to Top)

NEWSPAPER ARTICLE FROM A DATABASE
Author(s). Date of publication. Article title. Newspaper title (edition). Section: beginning page
number (column). “In:” database title. “Available from:” URL or doi.
Barry D. A mill closes, and a hamlet fades to black. New York Times. 2001 February 16. Sect.
A:17(col.2). In: ProQuest. Available from: http://search.proquest.com/docview/
1321294175?accountid=36268.
(Barry 2001)

(Return to Top)

NEWPAPER ARTICLE PUBLISHED ONLINE

Author(s). Date of publication. Article title. Newspaper title. “Available from:” URL.
Koppel N, Frosch D, McKay B. 2014 October 2. U.S. pursues contacts of ebola patients in
Texas. Wall Street Journal. Available from: http://online.wsj.com/articles/us-monitors
contacts-of-ebola-patient-in-texas-1412188681.
(Koppel 2014)

(Return to Top)

WEBSITES

WEBSITES

Title of webpage. Date of publication. Place of publication: publisher; [date updated;
date accessed]. URL.
APSnet: plant pathology online. c1994–2005. St Paul (MN): American Phytopathological
Association; [accessed 2005 Jun 20]. http://www.apsnet.org.

Note: For the in-text reference, include only the first word or two of the title (enough to
distinguish it from other titles in the reference list), followed by an ellipsis.
(APSnet . . . c1994-2005)

(Return to Top)

VIDEO

VIDEO
Author or editor. Date of publication. Title [format]. Place of publication: publisher.
Note: format can be DVD, VHS, or Streaming. If streaming, include “Available from:” database
name or URL.

Johnson D, editor. 2002. Surgical techniques in orthopaedics: anterior cruciate ligament
reconstruction [DVD]. Rosemont (IL): American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons.
(Johnson 2002)

(Return to Top)

– Selections from CSE Scientific Style and Format, 8th ed.
http://www.scientificstyleandformat.org

Revised, September 2014

You can organize your resources and format citations with EasyBib. Remember to check the format for accuracy!  

Create an account while you are at school to access the Premium version of EasyBib.

To try it, click on the logo: