Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drugs & Disease in the Modern World: Websites

Trusted Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (http://www.cdc.gov) 
Information on health, safety, environmental health, violence, injury, and more.

Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (http://www.cidrap.umn.edu)
University of Minnesota covers influenza, bioterrorism, food safety, and more.


Mayo Clinic (www.mayoclinic.org)
Health information and research available including clinical trials and other publications.


MedLine Plus (http://medlineplus.gov/)

A service of the National Institutes of Health, MedLine Plus provides information on 750 topics plus an encyclopedia, dictionary, and current news.

National Institutes of Health (http://nih.gov)
Comprehensive information on health related topics easily searched under the "Health Information" section.

National Institute of Mental Health (http://www.nimh.nih.gov)
This NIH site includes information, statistics, publications, and clinical trials on mental health and disorders.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (http://nccam.nih.gov)
Learn about complementary and alternative medicine with research from the NIH.


U.S. National Library of Medicine (https://collections.nlm.nih.gov/)
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich resources.

World Health Organization (http://www.who.int/csr/disease/en)

Diseases covered by GAR (Global Alert and Response)

How to evaluate a website

Websites  

Good in-depth research often involves using information found on the internet.  When using web resources provided by or recommended by your teacher or librarian, you can feel confident that you have credible sources.  When you independently find resources on the internet, it may not be so clear if you are looking at a credible source.  Click HERE for a few tips to help you evaluate websites.