Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All Sewn Up: Millinery, Dressmaking, Clothing and Costume
This full text digital collection includes millinery, dressmaking, clothing and costume books from the UW-Madison collections. These books from the first half of the 20th century include the history of clothing, styles of dress, fashion drawing, and design and construction of hats, clothing and costumes.
Berg Fashion Library at NYPL
Comprehensive coverage of world fashion from reference titles, journal articles, ebooks, and images.
Dress & Fashion: Design & Manufacture
The history of apparel manufacturing parallels the invention of factory sewing machines and the rise of a middle class to appreciate and acquire multiple articles of ever updated clothing. Coming from two New York Public Library divisions, the catalogs and histories in this digital presentation provide a window into the daily practices and design resources of one of the few manufacturing industries that still thrive in New York City.
Digitized fashion content from Europe's leading museums and archives.
Fashion History Timeline
The Fashion History Timeline offers scholarly contributions to the public knowledge of the history of fashion and design. It includes overviews, essays, images, a dictionary, and more.
Fashion Industry: A Resource Guide
Complete research guide compiled by Ellen Terrell, Library of Congress
The Smith College Historic Clothing Collection
The Smith College Historic Clothing Collection is an archive of clothing and accessories of women from all social classes in the United States, from 1800 to the present. The Collection includes over 3000 objects, most of which are donations from Smith College Alumnae and friends of the College. It is used as a resource for courses in costume design, history and material culture, art and literary history, and curatorial practices.
We Wear Culture
More than 150 cultural institutions collaborated with stories and images of fashion through time and around the world.
How to evaluate a website
Good in-depth research often involves using information found on the internet. When using web resources provided by or recommended by your teacher or librarian, you can feel confident that you have credible sources. When you independently find resources on the internet, it may not be so clear if you are looking at a credible source. Click HERE for a few tips to help you evaluate websites.