Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health: Websites

Trusted Websites

For general health information:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (http://www.cdc.gov)
Information on health, safety, environmental health, violence, injury, and more.

Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (http://www.cidrap.umn.edu)
University of Minnesota covers influenza, bioterrorism, food safety, and more.

Genetics Home Reference (http://ghr.nlm.nih.gov)
Provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of variations on human health.

Guttmacher Institute (www.guttmacher.org)
The Guttmacher Institute website provides resources on varied topics: abortion, adolescents, contraception, HIV/AIDS, STIs, pregnancy, bioethics, and more.


KidsHealth (http://kidshealth.org/)
With separate areas for kids and teens, KidsHealth provides articles, animations, games, and resources on physical and emotional health.

Mayo Clinic (www.mayoclinic.org)
Health information and research available including clinical trials and other publications.


MedLine Plus (http://medlineplus.gov/)

A service of the National Institutes of Health, MedLine Plus provides information on 750 topics plus an encyclopedia, dictionary, and current news.

National Institutes of Health (http://nih.gov)
Comprehensive information on health related topics easily searched under the "Health Information" section.

National Institute of Mental Health (http://www.nimh.nih.gov)
This NIH site includes information, statistics, publications, and clinical trials on mental health and disorders.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (http://nccam.nih.gov)
Learn about complementary and alternative medicine with research from the NIH.

Office of Adolescent Health (www.hhs.gov/ash/oah)
From the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, OAH provides resources on reproductive health, mental health, physical health, nutrition, substance abuse, and healthy relationships.


Planned Parenthood Info for Teens (http://www.plannedparenthood.org/teens)

Planned Parenthood’s website for teens provides health information; including topics on gender, sexuality, dating, disease, pregnancy, birth control, and relationships.


World Health Organization (http://www.who.int/csr/disease/en)

Diseases covered by GAR (Global Alert and Response)

 

For specific diseases, disorders, and conditions:

Alzheimer’s Association (http://alz.org)

The latest Alzheimer care strategies, research findings and advocacy initiatives.


American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, & Immunology (http://www.aaaai.org)

Covers asthma, food allergies,


American Cancer Society (http://www.cancer.org)

Cancer facts, statistics, research, and treatments.


American Diabetes Association (http://www.diabetes.org)

Comprehensive information on diabetes including nutrition and lifestyle sections.


American Heart Association – Diseases and Conditions

(http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/Conditions/Conditions_UCM_001087_SubHomePage.jsp)

Covers topics related to hypertension, stroke, and other heart related diseases.


Cerebral Palsy Research Network (https://cprn.org/)

The Cerebral Palsy Research Network (CPRN) is a group of doctors, therapists and patient advocates collaborating to improve treatments and outcomes for people with cerebral palsy (CP).


The Cerebral Palsy Toolkit (https://cpnowfoundation.org//)

A resource for families from CP Now.


HIV InSite: Gateway to AIDS Knowledge (http://hivinsite.ucsf.edu/InSite)

Comprehensive, up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California, San Francisco.


Flu.gov (http://www.flu.gov)

Flu.gov provides comprehensive government-wide information on seasonal, H1N1 (swine), H5N1 (bird) and pandemic influenza.


Medline Plus – Herpes Simplex (http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/herpessimplex.html)

Comprehensive information on herpes simplex including videos, photographs, interactive tutorials, and other valuable information sources.


National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases (http://www.niams.nih.gov/Health_Info/default.asp)

Reference articles, clinical trials, journal articles, and more on arthritis and musculoskeletal and skin diseases.

How to evaluate a website

Websites  

Good in-depth research often involves using information found on the internet.  When using web resources provided by or recommended by your teacher or librarian, you can feel confident that you have credible sources.  When you independently find resources on the internet, it may not be so clear if you are looking at a credible source.  Click HERE for a few tips to help you evaluate websites.