African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection 1818-1907
Presents a panoramic review of African-American history and culture. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, and Emanuel Love.
Alcohol, Temperance, & Prohibition
These digitized items are from the Alcoholism and Addiction Studies Collection, as well as from various collections in the Brown University Library including broadsides, sheet music, pamphlets and government publications.
AmDocs: Documents for the Study of American History
Provides links to approximately 390 documents, mostly pertaining to U.S. political, diplomatic, military, and legal history.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
Includes over 2,300 original photographs as well as over 1,500 pages from the Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior from 1851 to 1908 and six Indian treaties negotiated in 1855. Secondary sources include 89 articles from the Pacific Northwest Quarterly and 23 University of Washington publications in Anthropology.
American Memory: Historical Collections from the National Digital Library
Access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Anti-Slavery Collection – Umass Special Collections
The Antislavery Collection contains several hundred printed pamphlets and books pertaining to slavery and antislavery in New England, 1725-1911. The holdings include speeches, sermons, proceedings and other publications of organizations such as the American Anti-Slavery Society and the American Colonization Society, and a small number of pro-slavery tracts.
Avalon Project at the Yale Law School
Features primary source documents from all over the world in law, history, and government from the eighteenth through twentieth centuries.
Avalon Project: 9/11 Collection
An enormous collection of primary sources and government documents on terrorism, 9/11, and more.
This site from the University of Houston includes annotated primary sources on slavery, and United States, Mexican American, and Native American history; and succinct essays on the history of ethnicity and immigration, film, private life, and science and technology. Visual histories of Lincoln's America and America's Reconstruction contain text by Eric Foner and Olivia Mahoney.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America is a repository for primary source material from public institutions in the United States. Browse their Primary Source Sets, or conduct your own search. Featuring thousands of illustrations, photos, letters, rare documents, and testimonies spanning centuries. DPLA is a non-profit organization led by educators and librarians.
The National Archives Experience: Digital Vaults is an interactive exploration of history that examines thousands of documents, photographs, and pieces of history that have been integrated in a digital format.
Documenting the American South (DAS)
From the University of North Carolina, DAS includes ten thematic collections of primary sources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture including Oral Histories of the American South, True and Candid Compositions: Antebellum Writings, First-Person Narratives of the American South, and North American Slave Narratives.
Edward S. Curtis’s North American Indian: Photographic Images
Issued in a limited edition from 1907-1930, the publication continues to exert a major influence on the image of Indians in popular culture. Featured here are all of the published photogravure images.
EuroDocs: Western European Primary Historical Documents
Links to primary historical documents covering political, economic, social and cultural topics.
Europa – European History Primary Sources
Searchable by country, language, period, subject, and type of source.
Correspondence and other writings of six major shapers of the United States. Over 177,000 documents fully annotated from the National Archives.
Hanover Historical Texts Project
Provides a vast array of primary sources divided by categories such as Europe, specific centuries, and continents.
Historical Text Archive
Includes articles, books, essays, documents, historical photos, and links,. The site was founded in 1990 in at Mississippi State University, and is maintained by former professor Don Mabry. Items are arranged by topic and by country.
History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web
Links to primary documents, images, and interviews related to U.S. History.
The Holocaust - Oral Histories: U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum
Sixty-seven short videos of survivors recalling their experiences.
Holocaust Studies Subject Guide – Arizona State University
Including topics such as propaganda, refugees and resettlement, the Nuremberg Trials, photographs, and more.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Fordham's list of selected web resources.
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity – Documents from the French Revolution
Over 600 excerpts, prints, cartoons, and art from the French Revolution.
Library of Congress
Contains primary and secondary documents, exhibits, map collections, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and motion pictures.
Making of America: 19th Century Books and Magazines
This is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
The Middle East – Documents
A compilation of primary documents relating to the creation of the state of Israel and the subsequent problems associated with the status of Palestine.
Middle East Centre Archive
The Middle East Centre Archive preserves and makes available the papers and photographs of individuals who have lived or served in the Middle East including senior Government representatives, members of the armed forces, bankers, businessmen, missionaries or travellers. Although much is not digitized, the finding aids can be very valuable.
New York State Archives – Digital Collections
The Digital Collections provide a gateway to a variety of rich primary source materials held by the State Archives, State Library, and State Museum. Through the collection, you can access photographs, textual materials, artifacts, government documents, manuscripts, and more.
The Papers of George Washington – The Complete Correspondence
Over 135,000 documents relating to George Washington have been collected by the University of Virginia for eventual compilation in the Letterpress Edition of the Papers of George Washington, a series of approximately 85 volumes. This site provides excerpts from this massive project, and selected articles about Washington.
Perseus Digital Library
This digital library for Greek and Classical resources is from the Classics Department at Tufts University. It includes primary and secondary source scholarly works that cover the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Project Gutenberg is a major source of free historical electronic texts that can be searched by author or title.
The Sixties Project – Primary Document Archive
Includes items such as Martin Luther King Jr.'s papers, Black Panther Party platforms, SNCC position papers, and more.
Turning the Page – The British Library
This interactive display system enables visitors to virtually "turn" the pages of treasured manuscripts including: the Lindisfarne Gospels, the Diamond Sutra, the Sforza Hours, the Leonardo Notebook, the Golden Haggadah, the Luttrell Psalter, Blackwell's Herbal, the Sherborne Missal, and Sultan Baybars' Qur'an.
Virtual Museum & Archive of the History of Financial Regulation
Original materials on the creation and growth of regulation of the capital markets from the the 20th century to the present, with some documents as early as the 18th century.
Wilson Center - Kennan Institute Russian History Audio Archive
An online audio archive of Soviet and Russian history.
The World War I Document Archive
This archive of primary documents from World War One is international in focus.