Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are many open web sources for high quality, free, streaming video. Here are a few:
Videos from college professors of Berkeley, Yale, and Dartmouth. Many subject areas to choose from.
American Forgotten Gems of the Silent Era
n the 1910', Mary Pickford, Charlie Chaplin or Douglas Fairbanks were considered as the most famous celebrities of their time. Here are some other stars of that era when films were shown through the hand-cranked projectors and accompanied with live piano music. Some of them like Harold Lloyd became well known themselves.
Educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for K-12 teachers.
Live and archived video content from 1987 - present. Covers more than 250,000 hours from all three channels.
Covers subjects areas of medicine, mathematics, law, german, french, political science, religious study, sociology, beauty, culinary, dance and more.
Searchable, downloadable videos curated by the education community.
Film/AV Collections of FIAF Affiliates Online
Links to free online streaming services used by FIAF affiliates to provide convenient access to their audiovisual collections.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Movies from the Prelinger Archives and others, hosted by the Internet Archive.
Live from Lincoln Center
Streaming access to such theatre-related productions as New York Philharmonic: Celebrating Sondheim, Megan Hilty Live in Concert, Cynthia Erivo in Concert, and The Nance in Conversation.
MIT Open Video
Video produced by the Institute's offices, laboratories, centers and administration.
This includes feature and editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more. Each day, the editorial team at MIT Video selects one or more videos to "spotlight" based on the videos' content, production value and timeliness.
National Film Preservation Foundation
Curated streaming programs of film the NFPF has helped preserve.
National Film Registry
Streaming selection's from the Library of Congress' annual list of films tapped for preservation because of their cultural, historical and aesthetic significance.
Videos, diagrams, puzzles, games, and quizzes - just for fun!
PBS Learning Media
Videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more.
New and from the archives.
Videos from University of Virginia, University of Washington, University of Minnesota, and more. It provides insights, developments and research and discovery of various current topics.
Politics and entertainment around the world.
Crowd-sourced instructional videos by and for teachers.
TED speakers and fellows share videos and lessons.