LibGuides: Free Speech in the US &amp; at Dalton: Websites & Databases

Trusted Websites

American Civil Liberties Union
Free Speech section includes "What You Need to Know, What's at Stake, Current Issues," and more.
America's Founding Documents: The National Archives
The Bill of Rights language and explanatory notes, and much more from the National Archives.
Freedom Forum Institute: First Amendment Center
The Freedom Forum’s mission is to raise awareness of First Amendment freedoms through education, advocacy and action, sharing the stories of Americans who have exercised their rights to ignite change.
Legal Information Institute: First Amendment
A First Amendment overview, and links to related information from the Cornell Law School.
National Constitution Center
Serves as America’s leading platform for constitutional education and debate, fulfilling its congressional charter “to disseminate information about the U.S. Constitution on a nonpartisan basis.”
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Freedom of Speech
Beginning with an overview discussion of the boundaries, this source considers the harm principle, the offense principle, and democracy.

HeinOnline - Law This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 193 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs.
Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
A diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights. A varied collection of books on many civil rights topics and a list of prominent civil rights organizations help take the research beyond HeinOnline.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window