Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Al Jazeera English
Al Jazeera is an independent news organization funded in part by the Qatari government. Launched in 1996, Al Jazeera Arabic was the first independent news channel in the Arab world dedicated to providing comprehensive news and live debate. Al Jazeera English, which was launched in 2006, is part of a growing network comprising more than 10 channels and divisions.
ANU Museum of the Jewish People (Tel Aviv)
Conveys the story of the Jewish people from the time of their expulsion from the Land of Israel 2,500 years ago to the present. Includes access to a selection of virtual exhibits.
The Avalon Project : The Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary Record
A comprehensive collection of documents on the Middle East ranging from 1916-2002, arranged by date and searchable by period as well as by keyword. From Yale Law School.
Brookings Center for Middle East Policy
A non-profit public policy organization conducting research on foreign policy, economics, development, governance, and metropolitan policy.
B’Tselem, The Israeli Information Center for Human Rights in the Occupied Territories
Documentation about human rights violations in the Occupied Territories, in an effort to “combat the phenomenon of denial prevalent among the Israeli public, and help create a human rights culture in Israel.”
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook is a publication from the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), and includes country-based information on flags, maps, geography, people, government, the economy, transportation, communication, and defense. Narrow your search by country to discover political, social, and demographic information.
Council on International Policy
CIP is an independent non-profit and non-partisan foreign policy and international affairs think tank. Topics include foreign policy and security, economics, environment, global health, international law and human rights, and politics.
Foreign Affairs – Premium Content “Features”
(Contact librarians for remote access ID and password)
Foreign Affairs contains discussion of American foreign policy and international affairs, and covers political, historical, and economic issues. The premium content includes letters from correspondents abroad, reading lists on topics of interest, commentary, essays, and more. Narrow your search by region, i.e. "Middle East", for more specific information.
Foundation for Middle East Peace
Dedicated to informing Americans about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict,” this site include reports and access to its database of Israeli settlements.
The Internet Modern History Sourcebook - The Middle East Since 1944
This section of The Internet Modern History Sourcebook includes primary source books covering Israel and Palestine, Turkey, Egypt, Algeria, Iran, and the Kurds.
Jewish Agency for Israel
The Jewish Agency for Israel is a quasi-governmental agency of Israel that seeks to “address the many global challenges facing World Jewry and Israel.”
The Knesset (Israel’s Parliament)
A full range of current opinions are represented here. Useful historical data, including compilations of Knesset election results from Israel’s earliest days until today.
Middle East - BBC News
The BBC is a UK-based public service broadcaster, publishing news in a variety of formats, including online, television, and audio.
NYPL Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
“The Washington Institute for Near East Policy is a public educational foundation dedicated to scholarly research and informed debate on U.S. interests in the Middle East.”
How to evaluate a website
Good in-depth research often involves using information found on the internet. When using web resources provided by or recommended by your teacher or librarian, you can feel confident that you have credible sources. When you independently find resources on the internet, it may not be so clear if you are looking at a credible source. Click HERE for a few tips to help you evaluate websites.